Political Parties

Excerpt from Republic of China (Taiwan) Government

As of June 2009, a total of 148 political parties had registered with the Ministry of the Interior. The two largest and most influential among them are the KMT and the DPP. Smaller but well-known parties include the People First Party, the Taiwan Solidarity Union (TSU), the Non-Partisan Solidarity Union (NPSU) and the New Party.

Information on these and other parties’ stances on various issues can be accessed at their Web sites, some of which are listed at the end of this chapter. While no simple generalizations can reliably sum up their ideological directions, five of the six parties listed above and introduced below are customarily viewed as being “pan-blue” or “pan-green,” depending on their attitudes toward the relationship between Taiwan and mainland China.

Pan-blue parties, primarily comprising the KMT, the PFP and the New Party, are similar in affirming the existence, in principle, of a single Chinese nation comprising Taiwan and mainland China and tend to view the possibility of some form of eventual political integration in a favorable light. Pan-green parties generally emphasize that the two sides of the Taiwan Strait have separate and distinct identities and that Taiwan should continue on its own road.

Regardless of their distinctions, blue and green politicians and voters are in agreement on key points: Safeguarding freedom, democracy, human rights and rule of law is of fundamental importance; and ROC citizens in Taiwan have the right to freely decide their future. Moreover, political debates and electioneering are by no means single-issue affairs. Concerns such as economic policies and honesty of government have proven to be of equal or greater importance in elections.

Political Parties. (n.d.). Retrieved from Republic of China (Taiwan) Government: http://www.taiwan.gov.tw/ct.asp?xItem=27167&ctNode=1921&mp=1001


Resources :

Google Analytics : LINK